Municipal elections: 42 papers filed for the post of mayor in Patna Patna News | Techy Kings


Patna: Filing of nomination papers for the Urban Local Body (ULB) elections in Patna ended on Friday. Polling will be held on October 20. A total of 606 people submitted nomination papers, including 42 candidates for the post of mayor, 18 for deputy mayor and 546 candidates for ward councillors.
The Patna Municipal Corporation (PMC) will hold elections to fill up the posts of mayor, deputy mayor and 75 councillors. Scrutiny will be held on September 25 and 26 and the final list of candidates will be announced after withdrawal of nomination papers on September 29. Counting for the second phase will take place on October 22. A total of 17,34,470 people will exercise their voting rights at 1895 polling stations in all 75 wards of the city.
The important faces for Patna’s mayoral seat are the outgoing and first woman mayor of Patna, Sita Sahu, who is not only supported by her former deputy Rajni Devi, Mah Jabeen Naz, wife of former Patna mayor Afzal Imam, Sarita, wife of social activist Kamal Noopani. A tough competition will be faced. Nupani and Banita Singh, whose husband Batu Singh is associated with the JD(U), but also his daughter-in-law Shweta Kumari. Shweta filed her nomination papers for the post of mayor on Thursday.
Outgoing ward councilors like Pinky Yadav of Ward 31, Ruchi Arora (Ward 66), Musarat Parveen (Ward 29), Vinita Kumari (Ward 32) and Veena Devi (Ward 70) have also filed papers for mayor. All the mayoral candidates have promised free Wi-Fi zones in the city, housing for slum dwellers, vending zones for street vendors, better sanitation, relief from water logging problems and installation of public toilets and water kiosks.
Mayor’s seat is reserved for general category woman candidate and Deputy Mayor’s seat is reserved for ABC woman candidate. For the seat of deputy mayor, Neelam Gupta, a social activist and wife of Jagannath Prasad Gupta, a history teacher at BD College, filed nomination papers on Friday. He will be pitted against Ward 71’s Manju Kumari, Kanchan Devi, Tejaswini Jyoti, Sunita Devi, Seema Kumari and Babita Devi.


Source link